A panel of independent judges has winnowed applications for the sixth annual $25,000 Elizabeth Rohatyn Prize for Schools Where Teaching Matters to ten semi-finalists. Public voting is now open to select five finalists from among them.

“We are really delighted at the quality and nature of the work presented by applicants,” said Naomi Cooperman, Senior Director of New Content and Evaluation. “They are at the forefront of strategies that improve teaching effectiveness and help modernize the teaching profession.”

The impartial selection committee, representing the education and philanthropic sectors, named these 10 semifinalists (listed in alphabetical order):

  1. Abraham Lincoln High School, Brooklyn, NY. Principal Ari A. Hoogenboom.
  2. High School for Excellence and Innovation, Inwood, NY. Principal Tyona Washington.
  3. Information Technology High School, Long Island City, NY. Principal Joseph Reed.
  4. IS 5 - Walter H. Crowley School of Leadership, Queens, NY. Principal Kelly Nepogoda.
  5. MS 137 - America’s School of Heroes, Ozone Park, NY. Principal Laura Mastrogiovanni.
  6. PS 9 - Manhattan, NY. Principal Katherine Witzke.
  7. PS/MS 50 - Manhattan, NY. Principal Ester Quinones.
  8. Q319 - Village Academy Middle School, Far Rockaway, NY. Principal Doris Lee.
  9. Urban Assembly School for Applied Math and Science, Bronx, NY. Principal David Krulwich.
  10. Young Women’s Leadership School, Astoria, NY. Principal Allison Persad.

The Elizabeth Rohatyn Prize honors a school within 100 miles of New York City that has made significant efforts to advance teacher capacity and effectiveness. The ultimate prize recipient will receive a one-time award that may be used to support expansion and replication of the initiative described in its submission.

Public voting for finalists, available through social media, is open through June 17th. The selection committee will then choose the award recipient, to be announced at the Elizabeth Rohatyn Prize Luncheon on July 20th, 2016.

The selection committee’s members include:Antonio Freitas, Deputy Director, Early Childhood Division, Children’s Aid Society; Karen DeMoss, ‎Director, Sustainable Funding Project at Bank Street College of Education; Paul Kehoe, teacher, MS 250/West Side Collaborative, the first school to win the Rohatyn Prize; Regina Tottenham, Principal, The Brooklyn Transition Center, P373K, 2015 Rohatyn Prize winner.

Teaching Matters is dedicated to increasing teacher effectiveness, one of the most critical factors in student success. Teaching Matters’ services transform how educators work together at urban public schools, helping the most effective teachers develop the skills they need to lead their peers and drive school-wide improvement. They also partner with school leadership to create a work environment that equips teachers to succeed in the classroom.

Media Contacts

Sharon Rubinstein

Recent Releases

Sep 25, 2017 9:33:00 AM

Teaching Matters Collaborates with Tennessee Department of Education to Recognize Teacher Leadership through Micro-Credentials

Teaching Matters, a nonprofit leader in the national movement to support teacher leadership as a critical means to improve ...
Jul 19, 2017 12:00:00 AM

Teaching Matters Awards $25,000 Elizabeth Rohatyn Prize to Academy of Applied Technology and Mathematics

NEW YORK, NY, July 19, 2017 – Teaching Matters, a leader in the national movement to support teacher leadership, today awarded ...
Jul 13, 2017 1:30:00 PM

Statement from Teaching Matters on House FY18 Appropriations Bill

Systems that empower teachers also empower students. Teachers need our government to support them in their work to give ...